The major revenue source available to municipalities is property taxation. It is supplemented in varying degrees by taxation of personal property, business, persons (poll taxes), and tenants. In two provinces municipalities may levy an amusement tax, in three they may impose sales taxes on a limited basis, and in Quebec some cities have been granted the right to levy a general sales tax. Miscellaneous general revenue is derived from licences, permits, rents, concessions, franchises and fines. Most urban municipalities of any size operate utilities and enterprises for the provision of water and, in many instances, electricity, gas, transportation, telephone and other services. These sometimes provide surplus funds that may become available to help provide other municipal services. On the other hand, expenditures of municipalities often include provision for the deficits of utilities and enterprises.

In differing degree and with varying provincial assistance, municipalities are responsible for the following services: protection to persons and property through police and fire forces, courts and local gaols, and inspection services; roads and streets; sanitation; certain health and welfare services; and some recreation and other community services. Except in Quebec and Newfoundland and in a few minor localities where school authorities must raise funds for education not provided for by the province concerned, municipalities are responsible for levying and collecting local education taxes on property on behalf of the local schools, and often for borrowing capital funds for school construction. This stems from the traditional concept that education is a local responsibility, though it is now largely financed and administered by the provincial governments. Local administrative responsibility for education lies with boards of trustees separate from the councils that govern municipalities (except in Alberta; see p. 93).

In some localities, certain local services are administered by special district authorities encompassing a number of municipalities or parts of municipalities. These district authorities provide services, such as greater water and sewerage districts, drainage and irrigation districts, and health units, which elsewhere may be provided by the municipality directly or through a board or utility. They are, in effect, co-operative efforts or a modified form of metropolitan government. Metropolitan government is in existence in Toronto and partially in Montreal, and studies are under way for some other major cities, notably Winnipeg.

The following paragraphs describe municipal organization in each province as at Jan. 1, 1960. In Table 35, which gives the number of each type of municipality in each province, all fully incorporated cities, towns and villages are regarded as urban municipalities. It is difficult to apply arbitrary definitions, such as that which classifies as urban centres all places having a population of 1,000 or more persons.

Newfoundland.—The Province of Newfoundland has two cities—St. John's and Corner Brook. A number of the province's many settlements have been organized into 33 towns, four rural districts, three local improvement districts and 35 local government communities. The towns, rural districts and local improvement districts operate under the Local Government Act; towns and rural districts have elected councils and local improvement districts have appointed trustees. Local government communities established under the Community Councils Act in the smaller settlements have limited powers and functions. There are no rural municipalities in the usual sense. Thus, between 40 p.c. and 50 p.c. of the population of the province is now organized in some form of local authority but only about one-fifth of 1 p.c. of the total area is so governed. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and Supply.

Prince Edward Island.—In this island province, one city and seven towns have been incorporated under special Acts and 16 villages have been established under the Village Services Act. There is no municipal organization for the remainder of the province though it is divided into school sections.